

LUDWIG-MAXIMILIANS-UNIVERSITÄT MÜNCHEN

ARNOLD SOMMERFELD CENTER FOR THEORETICAL PHYSICS



Sommerfeld Theory Colloquium

Prof. Mats Larsson

Stockholm University

The Nobel Prizes in Physics in 1932/33: Heisenberg, Schrödinger and Dirac

The Nobel Prize in Physics in 1930 was awarded to Raman for the discovery of the effect named after him. The next time physics prizes were announced was in November 1933, which makes this the longest peace-time gap in the history of the Nobel Prize in Physics. Considering that the 1932 year's prize was awarded in 1933 to Heisenberg and the 1933 year's prize to Schrödinger and Dirac for their contributions to the new quantum mechanics, this gap is the more puzzling. I will describe, based on archive material, the struggle facing the Nobel Committee during those years, and how it eventually arrived at a name combination comprising three of the greatest physicists of the twentieth century. I will also describe briefly the three Nobel Prizes concerning quantum mechanics that followed later, in 1945, 1954 and 2022.

Wednesday, 21 June 2023, 16:15h, Room A348/and/via/Zoom, Theresienstr. 37/III

Prof. Slava Mukhanov